Saturday, June 18, 2016

Graduation at the Geisinger School of Radiological Technology

          Ten BAHS medical imaging majors received their diplomas in radiologic technology at the graduation ceremony on June 17, 2016  at the Hood Center for Research at Geisinger Medical Center.  The ceremony was led by program director Kenneth Roszel, a Bloomsburg University alumnus  (B.S. and M.S.) and attended by Drs. Judith Kipe-Nolt, BAHS allied health coordinator, and Dr. Barry Nolt, medical imaging and internship advisor. Dr. Cynthia Surmacz delivered the commencement address.  The following BAHS students received their pin, diploma, and some fun parting gifts: Kiana Bellesfield, Troy Dorman, Kristin Ezzyk, McKensie Haines, Eric Hendrickson, Amanda Layton, Emily Sylvester, Justin Winn, Kelly Wrzesinski, and Keena Zalar. 

          Geisinger's School of Radiologic Technology first opened in 1948 and was closed in 1997. The program re-opened in 2002, under the direction of Mr. Roszel.  Over the history of the school, 496 radiologic technologists have graduated from the program. The school is accredited by the Joint Review Committee on Education. Following its most recent review, the school was awarded the maximum accreditation period of eight years. For the past seven years, averages on the American Radiologic Registry Examinations by the program's graduates have exceeded state and national averages. Congratulations to all of our Geisinger graduates. We are very proud of you!
Emily Sylvester and friend

Keena Zalar and friend

Justin Winn

The graduates pose for a final group photo during post-graduation celebrations.