Sunday, February 28, 2016

Tri-Beta Initiates New Members

Congratulations to New Members of Tri-Beta!

Beta Beta Beta (Tri-Beta) is an honor society for biology students who achieve superior academic records and who display an aptitude for and an interest in the life sciences. Its mission is to stimulate scholarship, to disseminate scientific knowledge, and to promote biological research. Leading Tri-Beta during fall semester were officers, at right: Treasurer, Natalie Mayo; Historian Kira England; President, Christopher Bastardi; Vice-President, Kahli Castagnera; and Secretary, Jean-Nicole Place.  Jennifer Young is serving as historian during spring semester 2016. Dr. Surmacz is the Tri-Beta advisor.

Some of the chapter’s activities this academic year include weekly tutoring to students in introductory biology course, sponsoring  Mock Interviews for biology and allied health science majors, holding bake sales to fund chapter activities, and providing coffee and donuts to Hartline students, staff and faculty during finals week. New members were initiated into Tri-Beta in an initiation ceremony for family and friends in late October. The program included a presentation by featured speaker, Dr. Robert Aronstam, Dean of the College of Science and Technology. Dean Aronstam discussed “Why the brain is not a computer: Insights on synaptic signal transduction.”

Congratulations to the following new members of Tri-Beta.

New Initiates
Tala Abdulal
Ashley Barba
Kelly Barko
Hanan Ben Nacef
Paige Betts
Nicholas Bilski
Rebecca Bodwalk
Gabriella Bonchack
Mikala Britt
Emily Broadbent
Lauren Chamberlin
Aubrey Cole
Jaclyn Cortellessa
Elliott Fackler
Olivia Falko
Katelyn Garbrick
Alexander Gosch
Jacqlene Hoffman
Kurt Knepley
Nathaniel Kresge
Kayla Lavella
Kendall Leet
William Madden
Michaele Moniger
Shaidy Moronta
Jonathan Perez
Dominick Policare
Ethan Powell
Trina Reese
Alexandra Schlack
Ashley Schucker
Matthew Swift
Taylor Trautwein
Brittany Underkoffler
Justin VanDerMolen
Afton Wittmeier Ross Adamek
Beverly Andre
Corey Conville
Haley Kravitz
Jessica Baker
Samirah Boksmati
Kirk Jeffreys
Andrew King
Jamie Shinskie

Current Members:
Carrie Barry
Christopher Bastardi
Kahli Castagnera
Kira England
Brooke Esbenshade
Sean Hartzell
Natalie Mayo
Lexie Mendall
Philip Mosolino
Jean-Nicole Place
Jennifer Young
Josie Pervola
Morgan Strong